Athletics Dominate Soya gala

Friday night Sports Personality of the Year (SOYA) gala at Fort Jesus in Mombasa were dominated by athletics.

SOYA- Albert Njogu with Persons Living with Disability Award

Reigning world marathon record holder Eliud Kipchoge, 3,000m steeplechase world record holder Beatrice Chepkoech, Commonwealth 5,000m champion Hellen Obiri, world 1,500m champion Elijah Manangoi, world under 20 5,000m champion Edward Zakayo, Deaflympycs double champion Daniel Kiptum, caroline Wanjira, world under 20 10,000m champion Rhonex Kipruto, world under 18 runner Beatrice Chebet and Athletes Federation-Athletics kenya were all on the podium to receive their awards.

Kipchoge won the overall SOYA award after winning the men’s award beating Manangoi to second while Chepkoech won the women award ahead of Obiri.

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 449 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *