KVF name both men and women teams ahead of East Africa Games

Kenya Volleyball Federation has named Malkia Strikers and Wafalme Stars national team ahead of East Africa Volleyball that will be staged in Kigali, Rwanda next month.

The federation’s president Charles Nyaberi named 20 players for both men and women ahead of the December 12th to 22nd.

While naming the team on Sunday at the Koitaleel Samoei University in Mosoriot, Nandi County, Nyaberi said that Kenya has been dominating the region for over 16 years and the script will follow.

“This is a great team that has been selected and we know that the confidence the Kenya team has will dominate the championships,” said Nyaberi.

He said that the teams will hit the residential training camp on November 14th before heading to Rwanda which will also be part of the All Africa games qualifiers that will be staged in Accra, Ghana.

In the women’s Strikers, Mercy Moim from KCB will lead her compatriot Julian Namutira in the team with Pamela Adhiambo and Leonida Kasaya (Kenya Pipeline), Jemimah Siangu, Sarah Namisi and Pamela Marsasai (Kenya Prisons) who will be playing in the left attackers position.

Middle blockers position will see Edith Wisah, Belinda Barasa both from KCB and Triza Atuka and Lorine Chebet (Kenya Prisons) will be playing in that

The right/opposite positions will see Mercy Iminza (DCI), Loice Simiyu and Pauline Ito (Kenya Prisons)

Setters consist of Esther Mutinda (KCB), Emmaculate Nekesa (KCB) and Joy Luseneka (Kenya Prisons)

The Libero position shall be represented by Agripina Kundu (Kenya Pipeline) Elizabeth Wafula (Kenya Prisons) and Linzy Jeruto (KCB).  

KCB head coach Japheth Munala was named as head coach and will be assisted by Kenya Prisons’ Josp Barasa and Kenya Pipeline’s Paul Gitau.

The Wafalme Stars will be led by Dennis Omollo (KPA), Dennis Esekon (Kenya Prisons), Naftali Chumba (GSU), Elvis Kimtai Meim (KDF), Nicholas Matui (GSU), Sila Kipruto (Kenya Prisons) Moses Macharia (KDF).

Middle blockers consist of Brian Kamonde (KPA), Shadrack Misiko (GSU), Timothy Kipruto (Kenya Prisons), Wilson Cheruiyot (Equity) and Eugene Okelo (Trailblazers).


Kelvin Kipkosgei (Kenya Prisons), Brian Melly (GSU) and Geoffrey Kiplimo (KDF).

Libero: Sam Juma (KPA), Hadison Kipchumba (GSU) and James Mutero (Trailbalzers).


Elphas Makuto (Kenya Prisons) and Joshua Kimaru (GSU) where Gideon Tarus of GSU will be the head coach.

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 197 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *