Rahim, Duncan and Gohil are star attractions Kenya National Autocross Championships

The 2022 2WD Drive Turbo Champion Qahir Rahim, legendary Ian Duncan and rising star Neel Gohil will be among the star attractions  in Saturday’s Kenya National Autocross Championship round 4 slated for Lasarani on Saturday. 

The event will see drivers fight for top honours in various race categories over four heats of which the best of three rule will be used to determine the final classification. 

Among  those listed for the event include Karan Singh who will be sharing a quad bike with past Champion Wayne Fernandes.

Duncan has entered two cars in the event and will be driving an Attacker Buggy and Ford Capri classic car.

Qahir has vowed to put the disappointment of the past few races behind him by going “flat out” on Saturday .

Qahir will start the Western Kenya Motor Club organised round as one of the favourites for victory and has also vowed not to disappoint behind the wheel of his buggy contraption. 

“Im looking forward to this weekend’s autocross ! It will be an exciting weekend after a one month break. The team has put in a great effort to bring the buggy back up to speed. Asante sana! Wishing all competitors the absolute best this weekend. It’s head down and foot down from here.” Qahir said.

“The buggy developed a few ECU and mechanical issues over the past 2 races. But we stay positive and continue putting in the effort. Once again, kudos to Shazco aka Coach, Imran and the team for the great support and positive spirit,” added Qahir. 

Neel, on the other hand, will be looking to post impressive heat times in his new Subaru machine he has since upgraded to.

 He is jointly placed fourth in the Open Class with Rajveer Thethy. 

Defending Champion John Kadivane currently tops the Open Class log ahead of Ahil Khan with  Clement Marimi in third spot. 

 Neel, who won the Two Wheel Drive Non Turbo Buggy and Car classes last year, is still getting used to the Subaru which has its teething problems.

 Saturday’s event will be Neel’s second autocross in the Open Class and his aim is to push the car as hard as possible to get to know where the team needs to make improvements.

The event will also  be Neel”s second test after round 3 in Kasarani. 

“Besides that exams are still ongoing until next week and no major plans for the year, we will take one event at a time as opportunity and circumstances allow,” Neel said.

The 4th round of the National Autocross series has attracted an overwhelming number of entries not seen in many years with 42 confirmed entries so far.

Shell coming on board as sponsors has put part of their sponsorship towards the drivers directly towards a reduced entry fees whilst Going Outdoor has stepped up to give each entrant a gift voucher worth Ksh. 5,000.  

 JCB Ganatra has proudly come out to ensure that the track is accessible and the event runs despite the rains that have turned the SSS  Kasarani into a lake. 

The three corporates have put back life into the sport and for the drivers there is hope for better things to come in the Kenya National Rally Championship (KNRC).


1. Ankush  Shah

2. ⁠Amaan Ganatra

3. ⁠Amaan Ganatra

4. ⁠Sajad Khan

5. ⁠Murage Waigwa

6. ⁠Neel Gohil

7. ⁠Muaz Adil

8. ⁠Mustwafa .Murad

9. ⁠Rajveer Thethy 

10. ⁠Fahim Abdul Malik

11. ⁠Wayne Fernandes 

12. ⁠Karan Singh 

13. ⁠Clement Marimi

14. ⁠Jose Sardinha

15. ⁠Jose Sardinha 

16. ⁠Cheche Ababu

17. Gitau Munene

18. Qahir Rrahim

19. Stephanie 

20. Githengi KImaro

21. Shabaz Anwar

22. Ian Duncan

23. Ian Duncan

24. Wangeci Mathenge

25. Hamraj Chatte

26. Danvir Chatte 

27. Karamveer Singh Roprai

28. Ahil Khan

29. Safina Khan

30. Joseph Gachecheh

31. Suleiman Munya

32. ⁠Eric Bengi

33. ⁠Eaan Bengi

34. ⁠Allan Bengi

35. ⁠Carol Gatimu

36. Tinashe ⁠Gatimu 

37. ⁠Harpreet 

38. Azaad Manji

39. Gurdeep Bharij

40. ⁠John Kadivane 

41. ⁠Afzar Malik 

42. ⁠Azeli Ishmael

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 505 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *