Domongole and Chebet win Iten 15km titles

Fredrick Domongole and Naomy Chebet were crowned the champions of the third edition of Betika Iten 15km Road race held today in Iten, Elgeyo Marakwet County.

Domongole won the race in 45:16.5 beating Erick Kiplangat to second position in 45:17.4 with John Lomoni completing the podium at 45:25.5.

In the women category, Naomy Chebet won the title in 51:01.6 followed by Sheila Cherotich (51:24.0) and Abiagel Chepkoech completing the podium at 51:49.9.

In recognition of their outstanding performance, the top male and female runners received a Sh250,000 cash prize, as second and third place achievers earned a reward of Sh150,000 and Sh100,000, respectively.  

The 4th and fifth place finishers earning a commendable Sh50,000 and Sh40,000, respectively rolling down to top ten in both the men’s and women’s categories will each be awarded KES 20,000, ensuring that every stride counts in this exhilarating event.

Top ten finishers


  1. Naomy Chebet- 51:01.6
  2. Sheila Cherotich- 51:24.0
  3. Abigael Chepkoech- 51:49.0
  4. Winnie Kimutai- 52:02.9
  5. Vivian Jerotich- 52:08.0
  6. Catherine Cherotich 52:27.8
  7. Lilian Chebii 52:44.2
  8. Gladys kemboi 53:13.3
  9. Maureen Toroitich 53:27.9
  10. Sheila Jepkoech 53:31.7


  1. Fredrick Domongole 45:16.5
  2. Erick Kiplangat 45:17.4
  3. John Lomoni 45:28.5
  4. Ezra Kipketer 45:32.4
  5. Joshua Kithuru 45:44.1
  6. Timothy Kibet 45:46.8
  7. Caleb machasi 45:49.1
  8. Kiprono Byegon 45:50.6
  9. Kosgey Kiptum 45:52.1
  10. Asbel Kiprop 45:526
Facebook Comments
Total Views: 1712 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *