Kimanzi names Mutamba, Ovella

Speedy Pistone Mutamba and Ovalla Ochieng will lead Kenya onslot at the Africa Under-23 Cup of Nations and 2020 Olympics Games.

Emerging Stars head coach Francis Kimanzi named Mutamba (Sofapaka) and Ovella (Sweden) as Kenya seeks their first time appearance at Olympic games.

The Kimanzi team ill open the campaign against Sudan in Khartoum on March 20 before a return match at Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani four days later.

Kimanzi, who also doubles up as Harambee Stars assistant coach, released his squad just a day after the senior national team head coach Sebastien Migne named his 24-man squad for the dead rubber 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against Ghana.

Mutamba scored twice as Stars edged out Mauritius 8-1 on aggregate.

Others include Boniface Onyango and Moses Mudavadi who have been promoted from the U20 Rising Stars squad.

Also included is Arnold Onyango who captained the U17 team to fourth place at the CECAFA U17 championship last year plus Kakamega Homeboyz hotshot Peter Thiong’o, fresh from being named the top flight league’s player of the month for December.

The aggregate winner of this match will either face Libya or Nigeria in round three for a place in the Africa U23 Cup of Nations set for Egypt early next year.

And it is from this eight-team tournament that the three teams to represent Africa at the Olympics will be known.

Provisional squad


Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks)


Mike Kibwage (KCB), Johnstone Omurwa (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United), Yusuf Mainge (AFC Leopards), Joseph Okumu (Real Monarchs, USA), Boniface Onyango (Kariobangi Sharks), Andrew Juma (Mathare United), Moses Mudavadi (Bandari)


Teddy Osok (Wazito), Tobias Otieno (Sony Sugar), Ibrahim Shambi (Ulinzi Stars), James Mazembe (Kariobangi Sharks), Alwyn Tera (FC Saburtalo, Georgia), Arnold Onyango (Mathare United), Peter Thiongo (Kakamega Homeboyz), Curtis Wekesa (Nairobi Stima), Sven Yidah (Kariobangi Sharks)


Pistone Mutamba (Sofapaka), Boniface Mukhekhe (Mt Kenya United), Ovella Ochieng (Vasalund FC, Sweden), Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks), Jafari Owiti (AFC Leopards), John Avire (Sofapaka).

Additional Information Daily Nation

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 265 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *