Thirteen nations set for ITF Women’s World Tour W25 at Karen and Nairobi

Thirteen nations have confirmed participation at the International Tennis Federation (ITF) Women’s World Tour W25 set later this month at the Karen and Nairobi clubs.

They include Ukraine, Burundi, USA, Australia, China, Sweden, Slovakia, Colombia, Russia, Georgia, Spain, Tanzania and hosts Kenya.

Tennis Kenya Secretary General Wanjiru Karani said they had received over 400 entries but had to whittle down to 32 in each of the main and qualifying draws, as per the ITF rules.

Twenty-eight players qualify directly to the main draw and will be joined by eight qualifiers and four wildcards.

This is the first time we are hosting a W25 event. It has been a passion project for Tennis Kenya. The presence of African players is great for the growth of the game on the continent,” Karani said.

Winners will walk away with $3,995 (Sh612,000) whereas the second-place finishers will end up with $2,107 (Sh323,000).

The tournament the players an opportunity to rack up World Tennis Association (WTA) and ITF points with the winner picking 50. The runners-up will get 30 points, 18 for semifinalists and nine for quarterfinals. Reaching the second round will earn five points.

Kenya will be represented by 2022 Wimbledon Junior doubles champion and reigning Kenya Open champion Angela Okutoyi, her twin sister Rosehilda Asumwa, Stacey Yego, Alicia Owegi and Cynthia Wanjala.

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 205 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *