World beaters Bednarek, Rohler, Nowicki, Fajdeck, Omanyala, Moraa, Wanyonyi to clash at Kip Keino Classic

Top athletes from across the world are set to clash off at the 5th edition of the Kip Keino Classic, the World Continental Tour Gold at Nyayo stadium on April 20th.

The confirmed athletes include the Olympics 200m silver medalist Kenneth Bednarek, the 2016 Olympics javelin champion Thomas Rohler, Olympics hammer throw champion Wojciech Nowicki, 2022 world hammer throw champion Pavel Fajdeck among others in the foreign class.

Locally, Commonwealth Games 100m champion Ferdinand Omanyala, World 800m champion Mary Moraa and World 800m silver medalist Emmanuel Wanyonyi will lead the host nation at the championships.

Athletics Kenya (AK) president Jack Tuwei said athletics fans should expect fireworks on that material day as athletes fight for top honours in their respective categories.

“We are calling on everyone to come and watch the Kip Keino Classic. This is the only race of its kind in Africa. There will be fireworks in this place (Nyayo) on that Saturday as athletes compete,” Lt. Gen (Rtd) Tuwei said.

Race director Barnaba Korir called on Kenyans to come and support these athletes on competition day.

“Those are the athletes who will be competing and we ask all Kenyans to come and fill the stadium so that we can have a memorable event even as we think of how to host bigger events in the future,” Korir said.

Also present at Thursday’s event was Sports Principal Secretary Peter Tum and deputy speaker of the National Assembly Gladys Boss Shollei.

Tum  said Kip Keino Classic is pivotal to the government’s agenda for the sports industry in Kenya and assured of their support for years to come.

“This event is important to the Ministry of Sports. From where I sit, the future of Kenyan sports is bright and that’s why we want to support events such as these.We will continue to support the Kip Keino Classic in a big way,” the PS said.

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 4133 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *