Leopards, Gor Mahia, Tusker, Nzoia register New year wins

AFC Leopards made their maiden win as Kenya Premier League champions Gor Mahia bounced back form a 1-0 loss against Kariobangi Sharks to beat Chemelil Sugar in the new year’s opener.

Ingwe defeated visiting Posta Rangers 2-0 at Nakuru’s Afraha Stadium under new coach John Kamau.

A brace from Robinson Kamura ensured Ingwe collects maximum points to moved their tally for the season to six points after picking three draws and a loss in their opening four games of the campaign.

Champions Gor Mahia stunned sugar millers 2-0 at Machakos stadium with goals from new signing Nicholas Kipkurui and Boniface Omondi who scored in the second half as K’Ogalo moved to six points with one match at hand.

With victory the only needed antidote to an otherwise dull start to the campaign, Gor knew they had to come in for maximum points to put their rocking boat back on calm waters.

In Kisumu, Sofapaka denied Western Stima their chance to top the league with one all draw.. with the draw, Mathare United remained top of the standings following their 2-1 victory over winless Kenya Commercial Bank (KCB) at the Kasarani Stadium.

Cliff Nyakeya scored from the spot for his fourth goal of the season early in the first half before Clifford Alwanga doubled the tally for the slum boys five minutes to the break. Chris Onyango scored from the spot in the 92nd minute for KCB’s consolation.

Nzoia Sugar and Tusker FC meanwhile also picked up identical 2-0 wins over Ulinzi Stars and Vihiga United respectively. Henry Ochieng scored twice for Nzoia against the soldiers while Sidney Ochieng grabbed a brace for Tusker at Ruaraka taking his season tally to three.

In Awendo, Sony Sugar beat Kakamega Homeboyz 2-1 while Bandari and Zoo Kericho played to a barren stalemate in Kericho.

Earlier, Mount Kenya United picked their first point of the season with a 1-1 draw at home against Kariobangi Sharks.

At the Moi Stadium in Kisumu, captain of the day Elli Asieche scored the equalizer for Batoto ba Mungu to earn them a point against hosts Stima who had gone ahead via a Vincent Odongo goal.

Coming off the backdrop of identical 2-2 draws, Sofapaka knew they needed to pick a win if their title credentials were to be taken seriously.

Mount Kenya United, formerly Nakumatt picked their first point in the KPL following a 1-1 draw against Sharks in Machakos.

The hosts broke the deadlock on 18 minutes through Samuel Ndung’u whose corner kick sailed into the back of the net untouched with John Oyemba well beaten in Sharks goal. 

The lead didn’t last long as Sydney Lokale smashed home a rebound on 24 minutes to level the scores. His initial shot from the edge box had cannoned off the post. 

Sharks coach William Muluya handed goalkeeper John Oyemba his third consecutive start as Tom Teka and John Kuol partnered at the back.

Patillah Omoto controlled the midfield alongside Duke Abuya and Vincent Wasambo. 

George Abege partnered youthful striker Lokale upfront but their afternoon was vigilantly kept tough by the Mt Kenya defence led by Frank Balla.

Abege spurned a late chance to grab the winner when he blasted wide from close range after Harrison Mwendwa had picked him out with a cross on 72 minute.

Collated results

1. AFC Leopards 2-0 Posta Rangers

2. Gor Mahia 2-0 Chemelil

3. Nzoia Sugar 2-0 Ulinzi

4. Soafapaka 1-1 Western Stima

5. Kariobangi Sharks 1-1 Mount Kenya United

6. Mathare United 2-1 KCB

7. Sony Sugar 2-1 Kakamega Homeboyz

8. Bandari 0-0 Zoo Kericho

9. Tusker 2-0 Vihiga United

Facebook Comments
Total Views: 236 ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *